Webinar: Managing Uncertainty in Water Resource Modelling: Where to start?

Date: Thursday, 30 March, 2017

Location: Wherever you are

Contact: Trevor Pillar T: 08 8236 5200 E: mail@icewarm.com.au

Presenters:

Luk Peeters

CSIRO

Luk Peeters has more than 10 years experience in uncertainty analysis of groundwater and surface water models. After obtaining a PhD in hydrogeology from the KULeuven in Belgium, Luk joined CSIRO Land and Water in 2010, where he focusses his research on capturing regional scale hydrological processes and information in water resource management models, as well as quantifying and communicating the uncertainty of such model predictions.

Luk has contributed to the Australian Groundwater Modelling Guidelines, the development of the Australian Water Resources Assessment (AWRA) model and the uncertainty propagation in the numerical models for the Australian Bioregional Assessments Programme.

Details:

Carrying out an uncertainty analysis on the predictions of a surface water or groundwater model can be a daunting task. This webinar is not about mastering or navigating the wealth of methods and software for uncertainty analysis, it rather focusses on questions such as
– Which parameters should I include in an uncertainty analysis?
– How do I deal with sources of uncertainty not included in the model?
– What do I need to change to my model to do an uncertainty analysis?
– How do I bring in observations and observation uncertainty?

Register: https://zoom.us/webinar/register/49f8e42ad30deacbd746f627e8486654
When: Thursday 30th March 2017
Time: 2.00pm AEDT (NSW, ACT, VIC, TAS)
1:30pm ACDT (SA)
1.00pm AEST (QLD)
12.30pm ACST (NT)
11.00am AWST (WA)
Presenters: Dr Luk Peeters: Research Scientist CSIRO
Chair: Trevor Pillar, National Partnerships Manager, ICE WaRM
Cost: Free
Format: 20min presentation by Luk then 25min Q&A
Log In: To be advised on Registration

 

X
- Enter Your Location -
- or -