Adelaide Photographer Wins Watershed Art Prize

Monday, 1 June, 2009

DSC_0184Photographer Belinda Jane Blesing (pictured here with ICE WaRM’s Peter Moss, winning entrant seen in top left) from Derby Park in Adelaide has won the $5000 first prize for Digital Media and Photography in the inaugural Watershed Art Prize, announced in Adelaide in April.
Her photograph Waiting for Rain depicts a reflection of clouds on water and beat Yvonne Ashby from Stoneyfell and her photograph Wetlands which took second place.

ICE WaRM was the major sponsor for the Digital Media and Photography section and will hang the winning work at its Adelaide headquarters.

Riverton artist Roland Wright won the Painting and Media section for his work Arrival, with another Riverton-based artist Lise Temple taking second prize for her painting Surface Tension.

Art prize judges were Russell Starke OAM – Director of the Greenhill Galleries, Gillian Aldridge – Mayor of Salisbury, Peter Moss – ICE WaRM Project Coordinator and Milan Millison – representing Waterproofing Northern Adelaide Regional Subsidiary.

The Watershed Art Prizes are an initiative of the City of Salisbury to boost public awareness of sustainable water resources management.

The Prizes are named after the Watershed Sustainability Centre in the Greenfields Wetlands, which showcases innovative water management and promotes education in wetland biodiversity and water sustainability.

TAGS:   /

Adelaide Photographer Wins Watershed Art Prize

Greenfields Wetland, Mawson Lakes SA 5095, Australia

Upcoming Short Courses

Online Course: 1D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS- February 2019

Thursday, 14 February, 2019

Online Course: Understanding Groundwater Model Uncertainty Analysis

Online
Tuesday, 19 February, 2019

Webinar: Flood Modelling in the Cloud

Wednesday, 20 February, 2019

Environmental Tracers in Groundwater Hydrology

Melbourne, VIC
Monday, 25 February, 2019

Webinar: Sustainable water management for unconventional gas extraction

Online
Wednesday, 27 February, 2019

Webinar: South Asian Hydropower in the Era of Climate Change

Online
Wednesday, 6 March, 2019

Online Course: 2D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS- March 2019

Thursday, 7 March, 2019

PFAS and Groundwater Workshop

Adelaide
Thursday, 7 March, 2019

Australian Groundwater School

Perth, WA
Monday, 18 March, 2019

Online Course: Dam Breach Modelling

Thursday, 21 March, 2019

Online Course 1: Unconventional Gas - Water and the Industry

Thursday, 4 April, 2019

Online Course 2: Unconventional Gas- Water Treatment and Recycling

Thursday, 11 April, 2019

Field Methods School- Adelaide, April 2019

Adelaide, SA
Monday, 15 April, 2019

Online Course 3: Unconventional Gas - Policy and Regulation

Thursday, 18 April, 2019

Connecting flow and ecology in the Koshi Basin, Nepal

Online
Wednesday, 15 May, 2019

Australian Groundwater School

Sydney, NSW
Monday, 5 August, 2019

Advancing groundwater-dependent ecosystem detection using radar

Online
Wednesday, 9 October, 2019

Australian Groundwater School and Field Trip

Adelaide, SA
Monday, 11 November, 2019