Australia partnering with Nepal to improve water resources management

Wednesday, 26 September, 2018

The Nepal Australia Joint Advisory Committee has agreed to continue the bilateral partnership that is currently concentrating on river basin planning, ecosystem management, and exchange about water management policy options.


Joint Secretary of the Water and Energy Commission Secretariat, Mr Madhav Belbase, said today’s meeting was a good example of the close working cooperation between Nepali and Australian scientists and government officials.

“Nepal and Australia are very different countries with contrasting water challenges, however, we are very pleased with progress in our water partnership”, Mr Belbase said. “Australia is internationally recognised as a world leader in water resources management”.

The meeting was briefed on recent river basin planning efforts in the Kamala Basin. This work is being assisted by Australia’s premier research organisation, CSIRO. Australia’s International Centre of Excellence in Water Resources Management (ICE WaRM) will continue to provide policy support to Nepali officials preparing the National Water Resources Policy and associated legislation.

Mr Pete Budd, Australian Ambassador to Nepal, as joint Chair of the Committee, indicated that Australia was open to expand the partnership to new areas.

The Committee will meet again in about six months to monitor progress in the bilateral water partnership.

TAGS:  

Upcoming Short Courses

Online Course: 1D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS- February 2019

Thursday, 14 February, 2019

Online Course: Understanding Groundwater Model Uncertainty Analysis

Online
Tuesday, 19 February, 2019

Webinar: Flood Modelling in the Cloud

Wednesday, 20 February, 2019

Environmental Tracers in Groundwater Hydrology

Melbourne, VIC
Monday, 25 February, 2019

Webinar: Sustainable water management for unconventional gas extraction

Online
Wednesday, 27 February, 2019

Webinar: South Asian Hydropower in the Era of Climate Change

Online
Wednesday, 6 March, 2019

Online Course: 2D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS- March 2019

Thursday, 7 March, 2019

PFAS and Groundwater Workshop

Adelaide
Thursday, 7 March, 2019

Australian Groundwater School

Perth, WA
Monday, 18 March, 2019

Online Course: Dam Breach Modelling

Thursday, 21 March, 2019

Online Course 1: Unconventional Gas - Water and the Industry

Thursday, 4 April, 2019

Online Course 2: Unconventional Gas- Water Treatment and Recycling

Thursday, 11 April, 2019

Field Methods School- Adelaide, April 2019

Adelaide, SA
Monday, 15 April, 2019

Online Course 3: Unconventional Gas - Policy and Regulation

Thursday, 18 April, 2019

Connecting flow and ecology in the Koshi Basin, Nepal

Online
Wednesday, 15 May, 2019

Australian Groundwater School

Sydney, NSW
Monday, 5 August, 2019

Advancing groundwater-dependent ecosystem detection using radar

Online
Wednesday, 9 October, 2019

Australian Groundwater School and Field Trip

Adelaide, SA
Monday, 11 November, 2019