Australian investment improving farming systems in South Asia

ICE WaRM Education Manager Dr Ian Reid was invited by Sustainable Development Investment Portfolio (SDIP) Partner, the Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR), to attend the mid-term review meeting of their project entitled, Sustainable & Resilient Farming Systems Intensification (SRFSI) for the Eastern Gangetic Plains.

The meeting was held in Coochbehar in West Bengal, India, where some of ACIAR’s research trials are being conducted. The project is also running trials in Malda in West Bengal, Sunsari and Dhanusha in Nepal, Madhubani and Purnea in Bihar, and Rangpur and Rajshahi in Bangladesh.

In addition to learning from researchers about the agricultural improvements being made, Ian was able to visit the field and talk to farmers and small business owners who are improving livelihoods from their work.

Visit to a project trial farm.

The improved crop selection and scheduling, and farming methods have resulted in decreased labour, decreased water use, lower production costs, and higher productivity from small farming plots.

Ian will be exploring with ACIAR implications of these improvements for water management policy in the region.

TAGS:   / /

Upcoming Short Courses

Online Course 1: MAR global overview, examples and advances

Online
Tuesday, 23 July, 2019

Webinar: India-Australia water business opportunities

Online
Monday, 29 July, 2019

Online Course 2: Building a MAR project

Online
Tuesday, 30 July, 2019

Webinar: Advances in integrated river management

Online
Wednesday, 31 July, 2019

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School

Sydney, NSW
Monday, 5 August, 2019

Online Course 3: Managing a MAR project

Online
Tuesday, 6 August, 2019

Webinar: Groundwater Modelling with Modflow

Online
Wednesday, 14 August, 2019

Webinar: Sediment transport modelling. Too hard for Einstein?

Online
Thursday, 22 August, 2019

Webinar: Responding to climate change in Papua New Guinea

Online
Tuesday, 27 August, 2019

Online Course: 1D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - September 2019

Thursday, 5 September, 2019

Webinar: State and fate of the Hindu Kush Himalaya water resources

Online
Wednesday, 11 September, 2019

Webinar: Are your pumps about to fail?

Wednesday, 18 September, 2019

Webinar: Water reform planning - a ‘wicked problem’

Online
Wednesday, 25 September, 2019

Webinar: Modelling with HEC-HMS

Wednesday, 2 October, 2019

Webinar: Advancing groundwater-dependent ecosystem detection using radar

Online
Wednesday, 9 October, 2019

Online Course: 2D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - October 2019

Thursday, 24 October, 2019

Webinar: Water governance in challenging times

Wednesday, 6 November, 2019

Online Course: HEC-HMS Modelling

Thursday, 7 November, 2019

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School and Field Trip

Adelaide, SA
Monday, 11 November, 2019

Online Course: TUFLOW- 2D Flood Modelling

Tuesday, 12 November, 2019

Online Course: Dam Breach Modelling with HEC-RAS

Tuesday, 26 November, 2019

Webinar: Understanding water values in Indigenous Australia

Online
Tuesday, 10 December, 2019