Bangladeshi Water Specialists Visit Australia

Monday, 5 September, 2016

A high-level delegation from Bangladesh has spent two weeks studying water planning, management and governance in south east Australia.

The nine-person group, representing Bangladesh’s Ministry of Water Resources and Water Resources Planning Organization (WARPO), took part in the ICE WaRM-hosted study tour under the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade’s Sustainable Development Investment Portfolio initiative. This group included the Director General, Director (Planning) and Principal Scientists.

The study tour, ‘Improved Planning and Management of Water Resources and Good Governance’, focused on policy and governance, groundwater and surface water, water resources planning and management, integrated catchment management, water trading and the principles of water markets, water modelling and coordinating disparate user groups.

The group visited water recycling, aquifer storage and recovery, wastewater treatment and large-scale irrigation schemes in South Australia, the Bureau of Meteorology and computerised water management systems in Melbourne and the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the Department of Agriculture and Water Resources, the Murray Darling Basin Authority, the CSIRO, eWater, the Australian Water Partnership in Canberra and a number of Riverland sites.

Under the recently enacted Bangladesh Water Act, WARPO has been handed responsibility for implementing the governance of the water sector, taking into account the interests of 13 ministries and 35 agencies covering water, agriculture, fisheries, environment, industries, transport and navigation.

It also has to consider trans-boundary issues such as drought, flood, management of wetlands and ecosystems including World Heritage sites.

More info, contact ICE WaRM

TAGS:  

Upcoming Short Courses

Online Course: 1D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - January 2020

Thursday, 16 January, 2020

Webinar: Understanding water values in Indigenous Australia

Online
Wednesday, 5 February, 2020

Online Course: 2D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - February 2020

Thursday, 6 February, 2020

Webinar: Realising the benefits of cloud computing

Online
Wednesday, 12 February, 2020

Webinar: Revolving water funds

Online
Wednesday, 19 February, 2020

Online Course: Introduction to Groundwater Modelling with MODFLOW - Feb 2020

Thursday, 20 February, 2020

Webinar: Roughing it for water modellers

Online
Wednesday, 26 February, 2020

Webinar: 3D Computation Fluid Dynamic and Environmental Modelling

Online
Wednesday, 4 March, 2020

Online Course: Modelling Structures in HEC-RAS - March 2020

Thursday, 5 March, 2020

Online Course: Groundwater Modelling with MODFLOW-OWHM, FREEWAT and Farm Process

Thursday, 12 March, 2020

HEC-HMS and HEC-RAS Training in Auckland

Auckland, New Zealand
Monday, 23 March, 2020

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School

Adelaide
Tuesday, 14 April, 2020

Online Course: HEC-HMS Modelling - April 2020

Thursday, 23 April, 2020

Online Course: QGIS for water modellers

Friday, 1 May, 2020

Online Course: Pipe Flow Modelling with SURGE - May 2020

Tuesday, 12 May, 2020

Online Course: Sediment Transport Modelling - June 2020

Thursday, 18 June, 2020

Online Course: TUFLOW - 2D Flood Modelling - July 2020

Tuesday, 14 July, 2020

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School

Melbourne
Monday, 21 September, 2020

Online Course: TUFLOW - 2D Flood Modelling - November 2020

Tuesday, 17 November, 2020