Bright future for water ahead of CRC bid

Thursday, 20 October, 2016

The formal bid for a Future Water Cooperative Research Centre (FWCRC) was lodged today with the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science.

Led by Murdoch University, the bid attracted support from 50 organisations including the International Centre of Excellence in Water Resources Management (ICE WaRM), 13 universities and 36 other industry partners from across Australia.

An expression of interest for a cooperative research centre opened in March this year and from 15 submissions, seven were shortlisted at the end of August and invited to submit a detailed business case.

The FWCRC intends to focus on water technology to better utilise Australia’s abundant impaired water resources for growth and economic development and has proposed three research programs: agribusiness, resource industry and regional and remote communities.

The research programs have been crafted to stimulate a positive economic impact for the industry partners and for Australia, and foster strong collaboration between industry and academia.

The bid team, co-ordinated by Murdoch University under the direction of Deputy Vice Chancellor Research Prof David Morrison, consists of the Chair-designate, Prof Don Bursill, and CEO-designate Neil Palmer.

Prof Bursill had a 12-year tenure as CEO of the former CRC for Water Quality and Treatment and was more recently Chief Scientist of South Australia.

Mr Palmer, currently a Principal Water Engineer with Tonkin Consulting, was formerly the CEO of the National Centre of Excellence in Desalination Australia.

“There are seven shortlisted entities and only one dealing with water,” Mr Palmer said.  “The CRC Program is likely to fund three or four, so the chances of success are reasonable, especially with the level of industry support we have received.”

Following lodgement of the submission, an interview with the CRC Advisory Committee is scheduled for the end of November and it is expected the Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science, the Hon. Greg Hunt, will announce the successful CRCs in February 2017.

TAGS:  

Upcoming Short Courses

Online Course: 1D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - January 2020

Thursday, 16 January, 2020

Webinar: Understanding water values in Indigenous Australia

Online
Wednesday, 5 February, 2020

Online Course: 2D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - February 2020

Thursday, 6 February, 2020

Webinar: Realising the benefits of cloud computing

Online
Wednesday, 12 February, 2020

Webinar: Revolving water funds

Online
Wednesday, 19 February, 2020

Online Course: Introduction to Groundwater Modelling with MODFLOW - Feb 2020

Thursday, 20 February, 2020

Webinar: Roughing it for water modellers

Online
Wednesday, 26 February, 2020

Webinar: 3D Computation Fluid Dynamic and Environmental Modelling

Online
Wednesday, 4 March, 2020

Online Course: Modelling Structures in HEC-RAS - March 2020

Thursday, 5 March, 2020

Online Course: Groundwater Modelling with MODFLOW-OWHM, FREEWAT and Farm Process

Thursday, 12 March, 2020

HEC-HMS and HEC-RAS Training in Auckland

Auckland, New Zealand
Monday, 23 March, 2020

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School

Adelaide
Tuesday, 14 April, 2020

Online Course: HEC-HMS Modelling - April 2020

Thursday, 23 April, 2020

Online Course: QGIS for water modellers

Friday, 1 May, 2020

Online Course: Pipe Flow Modelling with SURGE - May 2020

Tuesday, 12 May, 2020

Online Course: Sediment Transport Modelling - June 2020

Thursday, 18 June, 2020

Online Course: TUFLOW - 2D Flood Modelling - July 2020

Tuesday, 14 July, 2020

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School

Melbourne
Monday, 21 September, 2020

Online Course: TUFLOW - 2D Flood Modelling - November 2020

Tuesday, 17 November, 2020