China seeks Australian expertise in water trading

Monday, 14 May, 2018

Last week, a high-level delegation from China Water Exchange (CWEX), the Ministry of Water and business executives, attended a 5-day study tour focused on water trading in the southern Murray-Darling Basin region.

As partners of the Australian Water Partnership (AWP), ICE WaRM and Marsden Jacob Associates joined with the Department of Agriculture and Water Resources (DAWR) to host and support the delegates and assess the feasibility of a long-term collaborative arrangement in water markets.

The study tour provided initial exposure to Australia’s water rights and trading systems and included policy elements of Australian water markets as well as on the ground experience in implementation and management.

Australia is a global leader in the development of water markets and CWEX faces challenges that Australian water market experience can support solutions to such as the operation of water trading and market information platforms sustainable water allocation and licensing frameworks.

This study tour was an opportunity to develop an understanding of how Australia and China’s approaches and experiences in developing water markets are similar and where they diverge and has provided a basis for developing a formal China-Australia agreement on water markets and trading.

Delegates and organisers are looking forward to developing a longer-term relationship where China – Australia share information on water rights, trading, regulation and other matters.

TAGS:   /

Upcoming Short Courses

Online Course: 1D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - January 2020

Thursday, 16 January, 2020

Webinar: Understanding water values in Indigenous Australia

Online
Wednesday, 5 February, 2020

Online Course: 2D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - February 2020

Thursday, 6 February, 2020

Webinar: Realising the benefits of cloud computing

Online
Wednesday, 12 February, 2020

Webinar: Revolving water funds

Online
Wednesday, 19 February, 2020

Online Course: Introduction to Groundwater Modelling with MODFLOW - Feb 2020

Thursday, 20 February, 2020

Webinar: Roughing it for water modellers

Online
Wednesday, 26 February, 2020

Webinar: 3D Computation Fluid Dynamic and Environmental Modelling

Online
Wednesday, 4 March, 2020

Online Course: Modelling Structures in HEC-RAS - March 2020

Thursday, 5 March, 2020

Online Course: Groundwater Modelling with MODFLOW-OWHM, FREEWAT and Farm Process

Thursday, 12 March, 2020

HEC-HMS and HEC-RAS Training in Auckland

Auckland, New Zealand
Monday, 23 March, 2020

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School

Adelaide
Tuesday, 14 April, 2020

Online Course: HEC-HMS Modelling - April 2020

Thursday, 23 April, 2020

Online Course: QGIS for water modellers

Friday, 1 May, 2020

Online Course: Pipe Flow Modelling with SURGE - May 2020

Tuesday, 12 May, 2020

Online Course: Sediment Transport Modelling - June 2020

Thursday, 18 June, 2020

Online Course: TUFLOW - 2D Flood Modelling - July 2020

Tuesday, 14 July, 2020

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School

Melbourne
Monday, 21 September, 2020

Online Course: TUFLOW - 2D Flood Modelling - November 2020

Tuesday, 17 November, 2020