China seeks Australian expertise in water trading

Monday, 14 May, 2018

Last week, a high-level delegation from China Water Exchange (CWEX), the Ministry of Water and business executives, attended a 5-day study tour focused on water trading in the southern Murray-Darling Basin region.

As partners of the Australian Water Partnership (AWP), ICE WaRM and Marsden Jacob Associates joined with the Department of Agriculture and Water Resources (DAWR) to host and support the delegates and assess the feasibility of a long-term collaborative arrangement in water markets.

The study tour provided initial exposure to Australia’s water rights and trading systems and included policy elements of Australian water markets as well as on the ground experience in implementation and management.

Australia is a global leader in the development of water markets and CWEX faces challenges that Australian water market experience can support solutions to such as the operation of water trading and market information platforms sustainable water allocation and licensing frameworks.

This study tour was an opportunity to develop an understanding of how Australia and China’s approaches and experiences in developing water markets are similar and where they diverge and has provided a basis for developing a formal China-Australia agreement on water markets and trading.

Delegates and organisers are looking forward to developing a longer-term relationship where China – Australia share information on water rights, trading, regulation and other matters.

TAGS:   /

Upcoming Short Courses

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School- Melbourne

Melbourne
Monday, 20 August, 2018

Webinar: Securing Australia's Agricultural Future

Tuesday, 21 August, 2018

Webinar: The Australian Groundwater Explorer

Thursday, 6 September, 2018

Webinar: Why Water Professionals should Care about the Sustainable Development Goals

Online
Wednesday, 12 September, 2018

Online Course: 1D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS- Sept 2018

Thursday, 13 September, 2018

Webinar: Cloud-based property flood information

Online
Wednesday, 19 September, 2018

Short Course: HEC-RAS 5.0.5 Training in Munich

Munich
Monday, 24 September, 2018

Short Course: HEC-RAS 5.0.5 Training in Paris

Paris
Thursday, 27 September, 2018

Webinar: Groundwater for Sustainable Development: Where are we?

Wednesday, 3 October, 2018

Online Course: 2D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS- Oct 2018

Thursday, 4 October, 2018

Webinar: Groundwater Solutions Initiative for Policy and Practice (GRIPP)

Online
Wednesday, 17 October, 2018

Online Course: Modelling Structures in HEC-RAS

Thursday, 18 October, 2018

Webinar: Atlas of Groundwater Dependent Ecosystems

Online
Wednesday, 24 October, 2018

Webinar: Controlling Groundwater through Smart Card Machines

Online
Wednesday, 31 October, 2018

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School- Brisbane

Brisbane
Monday, 5 November, 2018

Webinar: Gender Equality and Water Management

Wednesday, 7 November, 2018

Webinar: Gauge-adjusted radar rainfall data for improved water management

Online
Wednesday, 14 November, 2018

Webinar: Groundwater Governance, Policy and Regulation in the Arab World

Online
Wednesday, 21 November, 2018

Webinar: Implementing transboundary aquifer cooperation in Africa

Online
Wednesday, 28 November, 2018