China seeks Australian expertise in water trading

Monday, 14 May, 2018

Last week, a high-level delegation from China Water Exchange (CWEX), the Ministry of Water and business executives, attended a 5-day study tour focused on water trading in the southern Murray-Darling Basin region.

As partners of the Australian Water Partnership (AWP), ICE WaRM and Marsden Jacob Associates joined with the Department of Agriculture and Water Resources (DAWR) to host and support the delegates and assess the feasibility of a long-term collaborative arrangement in water markets.

The study tour provided initial exposure to Australia’s water rights and trading systems and included policy elements of Australian water markets as well as on the ground experience in implementation and management.

Australia is a global leader in the development of water markets and CWEX faces challenges that Australian water market experience can support solutions to such as the operation of water trading and market information platforms sustainable water allocation and licensing frameworks.

This study tour was an opportunity to develop an understanding of how Australia and China’s approaches and experiences in developing water markets are similar and where they diverge and has provided a basis for developing a formal China-Australia agreement on water markets and trading.

Delegates and organisers are looking forward to developing a longer-term relationship where China – Australia share information on water rights, trading, regulation and other matters.

TAGS:   /

Upcoming Short Courses

Online Course: Modelling Structures in HEC-RAS - June 2019

Thursday, 13 June, 2019

Online Course: Foundations of Water Stewardship

Online: Two sessions of three hours
Tuesday, 18 June, 2019

Short Course: RAS across America

Tuesday, 18 June, 2019

Webinar: Building farm level capacities in irrigation water management

Online
Wednesday, 26 June, 2019

Online Course: Uncertainty Analysis in Groundwater Modelling - July

Online
Thursday, 4 July, 2019

Webinar: How wrong is your flood model?

Online
Wednesday, 10 July, 2019

Online Course 1: MAR global examples, drivers and policies

Online
Tuesday, 23 July, 2019

Online Course 2: Building a MAR project

Online
Tuesday, 30 July, 2019

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School

Sydney, NSW
Monday, 5 August, 2019

Online Course 3: Managing a MAR project

Online
Tuesday, 6 August, 2019

Webinar: Groundwater Modelling with Modflow

Online
Wednesday, 14 August, 2019

Webinar: Too hard for Einstein: Sediment Transport and Mobile Bed Hydraulics

Online
Thursday, 22 August, 2019

Online Course: 1D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - September 2019

Thursday, 5 September, 2019

Webinar: State and fate of the Hindu Kush Himalaya water resources

Online
Wednesday, 11 September, 2019

Webinar: Are your pumps about to fail?

Wednesday, 18 September, 2019

Webinar: Water reform planning - a ‘wicked problem’

Online
Wednesday, 25 September, 2019

Webinar: Modelling with HEC-HMS

Wednesday, 2 October, 2019

Webinar: Advancing groundwater-dependent ecosystem detection using radar

Online
Wednesday, 9 October, 2019

Online Course: 2D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - October 2019

Thursday, 24 October, 2019

Online Course: HEC-HMS Modelling

Thursday, 7 November, 2019

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School and Field Trip

Adelaide, SA
Monday, 11 November, 2019

Online Course: 2D Flood Modelling Using TUFLOW

Tuesday, 12 November, 2019

Online Course: Dam Breach Modelling with HEC-RAS

Tuesday, 26 November, 2019