ICE WaRM Consolidates Mekong Links

Sunday, 25 January, 2009

ALA 010_lrThe links between ICE WaRM and the Mekong River Commission have been further strengthened following a visit by Chief Executive Officer Richard Hopkins and International Partnerships Manager Mike Seager late in 2008.

In September 2008, 45 staff members visited Australia from the Vietnamese Ministry of Natural Resources and the Environment, Can Tho University, the Vietnam Water Resources University, the Mekong River Commission Secretariat, with representatives from the National Mekong River Committees from Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand and Laos plus representatives from the Thai and Laotian National Mekong River Committees. The delegation studied the latest water resources management techniques and water resources policy and governance, particularly cross border issues. In addition, they took part in a series of short courses delivered by the University of Adelaide, the University of South Australia and the Centre for Groundwater Studies at Flinders University in Adelaide.

This return visit by ICE WaRM to Laos, Vietnam and Cambodia identified strong national and regional demand for ICE WaRM’s services across the region. Water authorities are especially enthusiastic about further professional development courses, but also expressed continuing interest in the Master of Water Resources Management programme, as well as fellowships and exchanges.

“An increasing number of strategic opportunities for collaboration are emerging,” says Mike Seager.
“It was clear from the feedback that ICE WaRM’s reputation in the region is extremely strong – particularly because of the Professional Development Programmes which have been supported by the Australian Leadership Awards.”

The mission explored future cooperation opportunities in education, identified the region’s training and research requirements, followed-up with Fellows who participated in last years Professional Development Programme and explored the potential for closer ties between ICE WaRM’s international partners.

The mission also included a field visit to identify key sustainability issues for the Mekong River and the region’s overall water resources.

TAGS:   /

ICE WaRM Consolidates Mekong Links

Quai Fa Ngum, Vientiane, Laos

Upcoming Short Courses

Online Course: 1D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - January 2020

Thursday, 16 January, 2020

Webinar: Understanding water values in Indigenous Australia

Online
Wednesday, 5 February, 2020

Online Course: 2D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - February 2020

Thursday, 6 February, 2020

Webinar: Realising the benefits of cloud computing

Online
Wednesday, 12 February, 2020

Webinar: Revolving water funds

Online
Wednesday, 19 February, 2020

Online Course: Introduction to Groundwater Modelling with MODFLOW - Feb 2020

Thursday, 20 February, 2020

Webinar: Roughing it for water modellers

Online
Wednesday, 26 February, 2020

Webinar: 3D Computation Fluid Dynamic and Environmental Modelling

Online
Wednesday, 4 March, 2020

Online Course: Modelling Structures in HEC-RAS - March 2020

Thursday, 5 March, 2020

Online Course: Groundwater Modelling with MODFLOW-OWHM, FREEWAT and Farm Process

Thursday, 12 March, 2020

HEC-HMS and HEC-RAS Training in Auckland

Auckland, New Zealand
Monday, 23 March, 2020

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School

Adelaide
Tuesday, 14 April, 2020

Online Course: HEC-HMS Modelling - April 2020

Thursday, 23 April, 2020

Online Course: QGIS for water modellers

Friday, 1 May, 2020

Online Course: Pipe Flow Modelling with SURGE - May 2020

Tuesday, 12 May, 2020

Online Course: Sediment Transport Modelling - June 2020

Thursday, 18 June, 2020

Online Course: TUFLOW - 2D Flood Modelling - July 2020

Tuesday, 14 July, 2020

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School

Melbourne
Monday, 21 September, 2020

Online Course: TUFLOW - 2D Flood Modelling - November 2020

Tuesday, 17 November, 2020