ICE WaRM European Exchange Scholarship

Thursday, 16 July, 2009

BrettIbbotson_EUAUExchange09_cropBrett Ibbotson has been named as the first Australian student to win one of ICE WaRM’s coveted European Union-Australian exchange scholarships.

Thirty-year-old Brett, from Encounter Bay near Victor Harbour in South Australia, is studying ICE WaRM’s Master of Water Resources Management programme at the University of South Australia and will be spending five months at the University of Delft in The Netherlands.Brett is a Bachelor of Technology graduate from Flinders University, where he majored in aquaculture. In The Netherlands, he will be working on a project to develop photovoltaic desalination plants for remote areas.

“Delft University has a reputation as one of the leaders in water resources management and the scholarship will help me gain further top-level experience,” Brett says.

He leaves Australia at the end of August and will return here at the start of February.

The scholarships assist students with travel costs and provide a monthly living allowance. They are open to post-graduate students taking water-related courses at ICE WaRM’s partner educators – the University of Adelaide, the University of South Australia, Flinders University, Deakin University and CQUniversity.

The three leading European universities taking part in the scholarship scheme are the University of Dundee in Scotland, the Technical University of Delft in The Netherlands and the Technical University of Dresden in Germany.

The scholarships allow up to 45 students from ICE WaRM’s Australian partner universities and another 45 students from Europe to take part in the exchange.
.
Two European students, both from The Netherlands, were the first to earn scholarships and are now studying at Deakin University in Victoria.

Exchange students can take courses in water resources management or carry out research at the exchange institutions. All courses will be presented in English.

TAGS:  

ICE WaRM European Exchange Scholarship

Flinders University, Sturt Rd, Bedford Park SA 5042, Australia

Upcoming Short Courses

Online Course: 1D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - January 2020

Thursday, 16 January, 2020

Webinar: Understanding water values in Indigenous Australia

Online
Wednesday, 5 February, 2020

Online Course: 2D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - February 2020

Thursday, 6 February, 2020

Webinar: Realising the benefits of cloud computing

Online
Wednesday, 12 February, 2020

Webinar: Revolving water funds

Online
Wednesday, 19 February, 2020

Online Course: Introduction to Groundwater Modelling with MODFLOW - Feb 2020

Thursday, 20 February, 2020

Webinar: Roughing it for water modellers

Online
Wednesday, 26 February, 2020

Webinar: 3D Computation Fluid Dynamic and Environmental Modelling

Online
Wednesday, 4 March, 2020

Online Course: Modelling Structures in HEC-RAS - March 2020

Thursday, 5 March, 2020

Online Course: Groundwater Modelling with MODFLOW-OWHM, FREEWAT and Farm Process

Thursday, 12 March, 2020

HEC-HMS and HEC-RAS Training in Auckland

Auckland, New Zealand
Monday, 23 March, 2020

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School

Adelaide
Tuesday, 14 April, 2020

Online Course: HEC-HMS Modelling - April 2020

Thursday, 23 April, 2020

Online Course: QGIS for water modellers

Friday, 1 May, 2020

Online Course: Pipe Flow Modelling with SURGE - May 2020

Tuesday, 12 May, 2020

Online Course: Sediment Transport Modelling - June 2020

Thursday, 18 June, 2020

Online Course: TUFLOW - 2D Flood Modelling - July 2020

Tuesday, 14 July, 2020

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School

Melbourne
Monday, 21 September, 2020

Online Course: TUFLOW - 2D Flood Modelling - November 2020

Tuesday, 17 November, 2020