New water decade – a time to accelerate investment in capacity development

The United Nations General Assembly has proclaimed the decade, 2018-2028, as the International Decade for Action ‘Water for Sustainable Development’.

To be launched on World Water Day 22 March 2018 and ending on World Water Day, 22 March 2028, the resolution calls for the commitment of governments and the private sector to work together on the implementation of the 2030 Sustainable Development Goals. The emphasis on sustainable development will focus on the integrated management of water resources to reach the social, economic and environmental goals.

ICE WaRM’s Managing Director, Darryl Day, has called for increased investment in evidence based water policy, governance reform, adequately resourced regulation and organisational capacity development.

Progress is required in all four areas, especially for policies and programmes which support gender equity and social inclusion in the decision making and leadership of reforms to address water, food and energy security.

International Decade for Action, “Water for Sustainable Development”, 2018-2028
http://undocs.org/A/C.2/71/L.12/Rev.1

Related articles
www.european-times.com/international-decade-for-action-water-for-sustainable-development-2018-2028/

TAGS:  

Upcoming Short Courses

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School- Melbourne

Melbourne
Monday, 20 August, 2018

Webinar: Securing Australia's Agricultural Future

Tuesday, 21 August, 2018

Webinar: The Australian Groundwater Explorer

Thursday, 6 September, 2018

Webinar: Why Water Professionals should Care about the Sustainable Development Goals

Online
Wednesday, 12 September, 2018

Online Course: 1D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS- Sept 2018

Thursday, 13 September, 2018

Webinar: Cloud-based property flood information

Online
Wednesday, 19 September, 2018

Short Course: HEC-RAS 5.0.5 Training in Munich

Munich
Monday, 24 September, 2018

Short Course: HEC-RAS 5.0.5 Training in Paris

Paris
Thursday, 27 September, 2018

Webinar: Groundwater for Sustainable Development: Where are we?

Wednesday, 3 October, 2018

Online Course: 2D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS- Oct 2018

Thursday, 4 October, 2018

Webinar: Groundwater Solutions Initiative for Policy and Practice (GRIPP)

Online
Wednesday, 17 October, 2018

Online Course: Modelling Structures in HEC-RAS

Thursday, 18 October, 2018

Webinar: Atlas of Groundwater Dependent Ecosystems

Online
Wednesday, 24 October, 2018

Webinar: Controlling Groundwater through Smart Card Machines

Online
Wednesday, 31 October, 2018

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School- Brisbane

Brisbane
Monday, 5 November, 2018

Webinar: Gender Equality and Water Management

Wednesday, 7 November, 2018

Webinar: Gauge-adjusted radar rainfall data for improved water management

Online
Wednesday, 14 November, 2018

Webinar: Groundwater Governance, Policy and Regulation in the Arab World

Online
Wednesday, 21 November, 2018

Webinar: Implementing transboundary aquifer cooperation in Africa

Online
Wednesday, 28 November, 2018