International Delegations Study Tour

Thursday, 25 September, 2008

ALA 010_lrTwo high-ranking Asian delegations recently visited Australia for six weeks each as part of ICE WaRM’s international study tours programme.

In total, there were 45 staff members from the Vietnamese Ministry of Natural Resources and the Environment, Can Tho University, the Vietnam Water Resources University, the Mekong River Commission Secretariat, with representatives from the National Mekong River Committees from Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand and Laos plus representatives from the Thai and Laotian National Mekong River Committees.

The delegations studied the latest water resources management techniques and water resources policy and governance, particularly cross border issues. In addition, they took part in a series of short courses delivered by the University of Adelaide, the University of South Australia and the Centre for Groundwater Studies at Flinders University in Adelaide.

They also joined field studies in South Australia’s Riverland and the Lower Lakes around Victor Harbour and Goolwa and met representatives of the Murray-Darling Basin Commission and related organisations. The programme was based in South Australia, but participants also travelled interstate to Melbourne, Canberra and Queensland for some short courses, and sampled a range of southern winter weather.

Time was also made for a range of social activities, including an Australian bbq at ICE WaRM’s head office and several dinner outings.

DPP_2689_lr ICE WaRM Chief Executive Richard Hopkins and a number of the international representatives featured on Channel 7 Evening News across South Australia as they visited the pioneering Parafield Wetlands project in Adelaide’s north.

Parafield Wetlands takes polluted storm water which previously flowed directly into the ocean and treats it through natural processes – removing the pollution and using the cleaned water to enhance the wetlands and recharge the groundwater.

The visit to Australia went very quickly, but the learning and networks will assist the delegates in their work and careers and, as a personal experience, well into the future.

TAGS:   /

International Delegations Study Tour

Can Tho University, Ba Tháng Hai, Xuân Khánh, Ninh Kiều, Cần Thơ, Vietnam

Upcoming Short Courses

Online Course: 1D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - January 2020

Thursday, 16 January, 2020

Webinar: Understanding water values in Indigenous Australia

Online
Wednesday, 5 February, 2020

Online Course: 2D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - February 2020

Thursday, 6 February, 2020

Webinar: Realising the benefits of cloud computing

Online
Wednesday, 12 February, 2020

Webinar: Revolving water funds

Online
Wednesday, 19 February, 2020

Online Course: Introduction to Groundwater Modelling with MODFLOW - Feb 2020

Thursday, 20 February, 2020

Webinar: Roughing it for water modellers

Online
Wednesday, 26 February, 2020

Webinar: 3D Computation Fluid Dynamic and Environmental Modelling

Online
Wednesday, 4 March, 2020

Online Course: Modelling Structures in HEC-RAS - March 2020

Thursday, 5 March, 2020

Online Course: Groundwater Modelling with MODFLOW-OWHM, FREEWAT and Farm Process

Thursday, 12 March, 2020

HEC-HMS and HEC-RAS Training in Auckland

Auckland, New Zealand
Monday, 23 March, 2020

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School

Adelaide
Tuesday, 14 April, 2020

Online Course: HEC-HMS Modelling - April 2020

Thursday, 23 April, 2020

Online Course: QGIS for water modellers

Friday, 1 May, 2020

Online Course: Pipe Flow Modelling with SURGE - May 2020

Tuesday, 12 May, 2020

Online Course: Sediment Transport Modelling - June 2020

Thursday, 18 June, 2020

Online Course: TUFLOW - 2D Flood Modelling - July 2020

Tuesday, 14 July, 2020

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School

Melbourne
Monday, 21 September, 2020

Online Course: TUFLOW - 2D Flood Modelling - November 2020

Tuesday, 17 November, 2020