Sharing a commitment to improved water management

Monday, 8 July, 2019

While multiple Indian cities grapple critical water issues provoked by unseasonal drought conditions and changed patterns in the monsoon season, it is timely that ICE WaRM and the Manipal University Jaipur in India, have signed an agreement opening new opportunities for sharing experience and expertise in water management and research.

ICE WaRM’s Chief Academic Officer, Dr Ian Reid, recently explored opportunities for collaboration with the Registrar, Dr Ravishankar Kamath and Vice Chancellor, Dr G K Prabhu, from Manipal University Jaipur (MUJ), one of the top universities in the state of Rajasthan. A memorandum of understanding was jointly signed on 29th June 2019.

Manipal University Jaipur Campus

Launched in 2011 as a self-financed State University, MUJ has redefined academic excellence in the region, invoking a way of learning which inspires students of all disciplines to learn and innovate through hands on practical experience.

The focus of discussions between ICE WaRM and MUJ has been on the benefits of capacity development through the international exchange of staff and students in the water sector.

Research in water quality undertaken by MUJ Associate Professor, Dr Monika Sogani, in particular her work on micropollutants, is of considerable mutual interest in India and Australia.

Dr Sogani expressed that there was much anticipation to plan joint activities for the benefit of both institutions and ultimately, the university students and wider community.

“It is really a matter of utmost pleasure to me and the MUJ fraternity as a whole, to have the ICE WaRM as a partner organization of our Institution,” said Dr Sogani.

Jaipur is the capital and the largest city of the Indian state of Rajasthan with an estimated current population of 3.8 million, making it the tenth most populous city in the country.

Both institutions are planning further dialogue on opportunities to work collaboratively on projects in the area of water and environment and address issues concerning water governance and policy, gender and social mobilisation.

Related Links
Manipal University Jaipur

TAGS:  

Upcoming Short Courses

Online Course: 1D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - January 2020

Thursday, 16 January, 2020

Webinar: Understanding water values in Indigenous Australia

Online
Wednesday, 5 February, 2020

Online Course: 2D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - February 2020

Thursday, 6 February, 2020

Webinar: Realising the benefits of cloud computing

Online
Wednesday, 12 February, 2020

Webinar: Revolving water funds

Online
Wednesday, 19 February, 2020

Online Course: Introduction to Groundwater Modelling with MODFLOW - Feb 2020

Thursday, 20 February, 2020

Webinar: Roughing it for water modellers

Online
Wednesday, 26 February, 2020

Webinar: 3D Computation Fluid Dynamic and Environmental Modelling

Online
Wednesday, 4 March, 2020

Online Course: Modelling Structures in HEC-RAS - March 2020

Thursday, 5 March, 2020

Online Course: Groundwater Modelling with MODFLOW-OWHM, FREEWAT and Farm Process

Thursday, 12 March, 2020

HEC-HMS and HEC-RAS Training in Auckland

Auckland, New Zealand
Monday, 23 March, 2020

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School

Adelaide
Tuesday, 14 April, 2020

Online Course: HEC-HMS Modelling - April 2020

Thursday, 23 April, 2020

Online Course: QGIS for water modellers

Friday, 1 May, 2020

Online Course: Pipe Flow Modelling with SURGE - May 2020

Tuesday, 12 May, 2020

Online Course: Sediment Transport Modelling - June 2020

Thursday, 18 June, 2020

Online Course: TUFLOW - 2D Flood Modelling - July 2020

Tuesday, 14 July, 2020

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School

Melbourne
Monday, 21 September, 2020

Online Course: TUFLOW - 2D Flood Modelling - November 2020

Tuesday, 17 November, 2020