Strong ICE WaRM Presence at OZWater

Friday, 27 March, 2009

AWAICE WaRM Chief Executive Richard Hopkins and International Partnerships Manager Mike Seager were among 1300 delegates attending the OzWater 2009 conference in Melbourne in mid-March. ICE WaRM is an active member of AWA, including national and international partnership activities.

The three-day conference, hosted by the Australian Water Association (AWA), covered key issues facing the Australian and international water industries – including major national water reforms, the impact of climate change, technological advances and the skills shortage.

Keynote speakers included Rob Renner – Executive Director of the United States Water Research Foundation, Maureen Stapleton – General Manager of the San Diego County Water Authority, Anne Howe – Chief Executive of the South Australian Water Corporation, Kerry Schott – Managing Director of Sydney Water, Ben Furmage – General Manager of Strategic Planning with Melbourne Water, Mike Young – Executive Director of the Environment Institute at the University of Adelaide, Theo Schmitz – Chief Executive of the Association of Dutch Water Companies, Professor In S Kim – from the Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology in Korea, Paul Gilding – an independent advisor on sustainability and climate change and explorer and author Tim Jarvis.

As well, the conference featured an extensive trade exhibition.

Two exchange students from Delft Technical University in The Netherlands, who arranged their Australian studies in advance of the now-active Australia-European Union Exchange programme, also attended the conference and promoted student exchange opportunities. The Australian component of the AU-EU exchange programme is being managed by ICE WaRM.

A new initiative, Water Australia, was launched at OzWater 2009 by its Chairman, Dr Jim Gill, the former CEO of the Western Australian Water Corporation. Water Australia aims to provide a unifying brand for Australian water-related exports, and ICE WaRM is a founding member. It was established within the AWA structure, with independent governance arrangements.

TAGS:  

Strong ICE WaRM Presence at OZWater

Melbourne VIC, Australia

Upcoming Short Courses

Online Course: 1D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - January 2020

Thursday, 16 January, 2020

Webinar: Understanding water values in Indigenous Australia

Online
Wednesday, 5 February, 2020

Online Course: 2D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - February 2020

Thursday, 6 February, 2020

Webinar: Realising the benefits of cloud computing

Online
Wednesday, 12 February, 2020

Webinar: Revolving water funds

Online
Wednesday, 19 February, 2020

Online Course: Introduction to Groundwater Modelling with MODFLOW - Feb 2020

Thursday, 20 February, 2020

Webinar: Roughing it for water modellers

Online
Wednesday, 26 February, 2020

Webinar: 3D Computation Fluid Dynamic and Environmental Modelling

Online
Wednesday, 4 March, 2020

Online Course: Modelling Structures in HEC-RAS - March 2020

Thursday, 5 March, 2020

Online Course: Groundwater Modelling with MODFLOW-OWHM, FREEWAT and Farm Process

Thursday, 12 March, 2020

HEC-HMS and HEC-RAS Training in Auckland

Auckland, New Zealand
Monday, 23 March, 2020

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School

Adelaide
Tuesday, 14 April, 2020

Online Course: HEC-HMS Modelling - April 2020

Thursday, 23 April, 2020

Online Course: QGIS for water modellers

Friday, 1 May, 2020

Online Course: Pipe Flow Modelling with SURGE - May 2020

Tuesday, 12 May, 2020

Online Course: Sediment Transport Modelling - June 2020

Thursday, 18 June, 2020

Online Course: TUFLOW - 2D Flood Modelling - July 2020

Tuesday, 14 July, 2020

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School

Melbourne
Monday, 21 September, 2020

Online Course: TUFLOW - 2D Flood Modelling - November 2020

Tuesday, 17 November, 2020