The Sustainable Development Goals under climate change

Thursday, 8 August, 2019

The target for achieving the Sustainable Development Goals is 2030. Almost one third of the time has elapsed since the SDGs were agreed in 2015 for the target of 2030.

The Sustainable Development Goals under climate change, written by Dr Suzy Goldsmith and Darryl Day, reports from the findings of the ‘Stretching the SDGs’ workshop, held at Ozwater’18 and highlights a call to action for Australian water professionals.

Designed to explore the perspectives of water professionals, the workshop invited participants to share and develop their ideas about making progress on the SDGs – deploying their extensive and diverse knowledge as experienced individuals, unconstrained by organisational objectives. Starting from the interconnectedness of all 17 SDGs, workshop participants were asked to consider the challenges and opportunities for the water sector and what needs to be done.

“Water professionals have a unique opportunity and responsibility to provide leadership in addressing the SDGs across the professions and cultural divides, both in Australia and in support of later developing countries”, said Darryl Day.

“It is necessary for everyone to consider what impact they can have in progressing the work of the SDGs, especially through new partnerships and networks to tackle challenges from a systems perspective”

This paper presents an analysis of water professionals’ views gathered at the workshop. By drawing links with capacity building frameworks for sustainability the paper raises some new issues about the potential for water professionals to play a more prominent role in leading progress on the SDGs. These ideas are advanced as a new agenda for Australian water professionals.

Read the full paper by Dr Suzy Goldsmith and Darryl Day

The Sustainable Development Goals under climate change

TAGS:  

Upcoming Short Courses

Webinar: Responding to climate change in Papua New Guinea

Online
Wednesday, 4 September, 2019

Online Course: 1D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - September 2019

Thursday, 5 September, 2019

Webinar: State and fate of the Hindu Kush Himalaya water resources

Online
Wednesday, 11 September, 2019

Webinar: Are your pumps about to fail?

Online
Wednesday, 18 September, 2019

Webinar: Water reform planning - a ‘wicked problem’

Online
Wednesday, 25 September, 2019

Online Course: Introduction to Groundwater Modelling with MODFLOW

Tuesday, 1 October, 2019

Online Course: Sediment Transport Modelling

Online
Tuesday, 1 October, 2019

Webinar: Modelling with HEC-HMS

Online
Wednesday, 2 October, 2019

Webinar: Advancing groundwater-dependent ecosystem detection using radar

Online
Wednesday, 9 October, 2019

Irrigation using the Cloud

Online
Wednesday, 23 October, 2019

Online Course: 2D Water Modelling with HEC-RAS - October 2019

Thursday, 24 October, 2019

Webinar: Water governance in challenging times

Online
Wednesday, 6 November, 2019

Online Course: HEC-HMS Modelling

Thursday, 7 November, 2019

Short Course: Australian Groundwater School and Field Trip

Adelaide, SA
Monday, 11 November, 2019

Online Course: TUFLOW- 2D Flood Modelling

Tuesday, 12 November, 2019

Online Course: Dam Breach Modelling with HEC-RAS

Tuesday, 26 November, 2019

Online Course: Groundwater Modelling with MODFLOW-OWHM, FREEWAT and Farm Process

Tuesday, 3 December, 2019

Webinar: Understanding water values in Indigenous Australia

Online
Tuesday, 10 December, 2019